Pick Your Poison… Uh, I Mean Platform

OR

The "Other" Platform

 

Time was when I used Microsoft for work and Mac for entertainment. MS-DOS? Yup, I knew the commands. Windows up to Windows XP? Sure, I could figure it out. They all were stable and they all worked fine. Until Windows Vista. That was it for me. I was working in a PC-only office at the time. The boss had Windows Vista, the rest of us Windows XP. Nothing ever worked after that.

I left. I took a few weeks, and moved my personal stuff from a PC to a Mac. I went to the Mac store and did all of the free workshops. Just like that I switched. It was easy. Everything works.

However, when it comes to looking for in-house copywriting work, I am finding I still need to know both platforms. Oh, crap. I really hate Windows. The Office package takes forever to load, forever to find what I need. I get updates every week that there are more security patches to download. Word and Excel are way more complicated than they have to be. Yes, I know you have the larger share of the platform market. But you could be a little more user-friendly, Microsoft.

This is a case of knowing that I have to acquire skills that I do not want or like to use. I’ll suck it up, but I’m not happy about it. Microsoft avoidance has become a way of life. Where are the free workshops, Microsoft?

 

 

Leave a Reply

