When Doing Your Job Changes the World

One of the dynamos of the computing world passed away today. Steve Jobs was a huge force in the world of science and computing. His work also changed my life in big ways and small. My writing career got started on a Mac and it will continue on a Mac. The company that he built has always impressed me as a consumer. Yes, the computers are more expensive than PCs, but the service I have gotten through the years has always been from courteous, interested and speedy people.

The man impressed me too. Pancreatic cancer is a terrible disease. The prognosis for those who get it is never very good. However, he held out for a long time. Honestly, I don’t know how he did it, how he held out and worked for so long. His suffering must have been terrible; you could see it in his face, yet I do not think I ever read or heard about one instance of him complaining. That alone helps me to put my own life experiences in perspective.

My sympathy goes out to his family, friends and colleagues at Apple. Mr. Jobs, thank you. You will be sorely missed.

Leave a Reply

